I’ll Come Running

Poem by Cam (Romantic Squid)

I’ll follow your voice to the end of time
The mountains are dark and filled with rotten thyme
But when I hear your voice I am filled with sublime.
Though the dark clouds are rolling signs.
I’ll come running when you call.

The ocean is frightful,
When I hold your hand I can’t see the night fall.
The waves rage, turn, overturn and crash.
I pray to god this moment with you will not be our last.
I’ll come running when you call.

The darkest days are followed by the shroud of destruction,
Every time I see your smile, my lungs breathless in the wild.
The simple touch of your lips, like the north star the brightest.
You turn away and continue to fight us.
I’ll come running when you call.

The largest tree with roots dug deeply,
My love for you will grow within the stone valley.
Though the cock crows twice without you,
Within these demon days my love for you is all that’s true.
I’ll come running when you call.

Abuse me, cut me, throw me to the wolves.
The pain and anguish comes in droves.
Manipulate me, twist my words, and drown me form your presence.
The choice is yours if you’re willing to be loveless.
I’ll come running when you call.

The treachery at your fingertips,
I trust you will not leave me for death in the crypts.
Wounded by the forceful opposition.
The knight in shinning armor will not leave his mission.
Please god, I’ll come running when she calls.

The last gasp of breath spoken from my tongue,
Leaves me alone as my body blood soaked like a sponge.
Dead, dying, almost gone, The cruelty of your words.
Will you leave me out here for the birds?
I’ll come running when….

Leave a Reply

